Excursions, Uncategorized

Belgium // in a nutshell

December 21-24, 2015

Dear WordPress,

The most unlikely event occurred on this trip. I HUNG OUT WITH BILLY FROM UCSD JSA. what what!?

So it went like this:
I posted an instagram picture in Amsterdam and he messaged me if I was staying.
“Oh I’m leaving on Monday to Brussels though”
“WHAT, I’M GOING TO BRUSSELS RIGHT AWAY”
“what!?”

So we met up! He was visiting his childhood friend that currently lives in England and travelling to Belgium/Netherlands together!

Day 1
I spent my first day in Belgium (Brugge) alone! I took an hour train ride and first went to the Info Center to get a map. No data Seira relied on the old school map to look around.
Brugge made me feel like I was in a fairytale / gingerbread world.

The christmas markets sold christmas goods unlike the ones in Milan and Amsterdam so I ended up buying a cute ornament!

Interesting things that happened:
1.Finding the train that takes us to Brugge was a team effort (with strangers)
2.Some guy in the car opened his window and told me to follow the crowd
3.Random stranger asked me for a photo with them
4.Almost got stuck inside a church
5.Talked to some Belgians from Ghent for directions

Day 2:
 I went to Ghent with Billy and Andrew for this day. Ghent had a medieval feel. I think it’s because most of our time was spent in this stone castle. It reminded me of Runescape, an online game I played in elementary school. (LOLz)
The Christmas markets in Ghent was the largest/best. I wish I was there for night time!
We ate 1 euro Belgian waffles and scrumptious soup!
I felt like I got to know Billy better by talking to his childhood friend and him. Travelling helps you know a person better I suppose (: I’ll see him in SD! (:

Day 3:
Today was Brussels day! Breakfast with Billy and Andrew at Paul’s, a cute bakery chain. They left for Brugge on this day while I walked around Brussels purchasing last minute gifts for home. Belgian chocolate is so sweet and yummy.
Did you know: Godiva originated in Belgium!?
Did you know: Mannekin Pis (The peeing boy) is known as one of the most disappointing historic figures in history?!
Well, at the end of the day, I headed on a train to LONDON!

P.S: All this while, I’ve been completely sick. After finals ended, I lost my voice and could not stop coughing. So much for a healthy trip! I’m still coughing till this moment because I never got the chance to recover.
P.S #2: I stayed at the same hostel chain, MEININGER, in all three cities (Amsterdam, Brussels, and London), and have been comparing them 😀
I liked Amsterdam’s the best! It was the cleanest/most private. 5/6 of us in Brussels were sick, and London’s was just old and the wifi didn’t work in our rooms.

I chunneled to London and Eurostar was ALRIGHT (sorta old). I didn’t know we still had to go through customs to get to England! Is it still part of the EU!? lol

Standard

Leave a Reply

